Federal Reserve Economic Data: Your trusted data source since 1991

Census Division Definitions

Number Name States
1 New England Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
2 Middle Atlantic New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania
3 East North Central Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin
4 West North Central Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota
5 South Atlantic Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia
6 East South Central Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee
7 West South Central Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas
8 Mountain Division Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming
9 Pacific Division Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington

Subscribe to the FRED newsletter

Follow us

Back to Top